The Gaiety Theatre was originally a large Pavilion opened in 1893, but shortly after opening it was closed and architect Frank Matcham was commissioned to redesign the building. In 1900 it was reopened as a grand Opera House and Theatre and for the next 14 years it experienced great success. The World Wars came and went, times changed the the theatre began to fall into disrepair as it failed to be commercially profitable.
Throughout the 1950's the Theatre was used as a Cinema and by 1968 plans were on the table for its demolition. The Isle of Man Government acquired the building in 1971 and by 1976 they had begun the much needed restoration. Over the many years which followed on limited funds the building was brought back to his original design. It remains one of the many key heritage buildings for the people of the island as well as a centre for the Preforming Arts.
In 1995, during under stage restoration the Corsican Trap was recreated and installed. This specialised trap was to create the appearance of gliding across as well as rising up through the stage. It gives an amazing effect which captivates the audience. This feature of the theatre is the only known original in the British Isles.